Percy Tau nominated

PSL trio and Percy Tau nominated for CAF’s Top Prize

Home » PSL trio and Percy Tau nominated for CAF’s Top Prize

CAF has announced the nominees for the 2023 CAF awards, with PSL trio Ronwen Williams, Peter Shalulile and Ranga Chivaviro, including Al Ahly talisman Percy Tau all up for the Player of the Year award.

CAF has revealed the list of nominees for the men’s categories for the CAF Awards 2023 as preparations for the Awards Gala scheduled for 11 December 2023 in Marrakech, Morocco, gather momentum.

The Confederation of African Football released the list of nominees for the awards, which will take place in Marrakech, Morocco, on December 11, 2023.

Percy Tau has had an impressive year, scoring five goals and providing five assists to help Al Ahly win the CAF Champions League. He has been nominated in the Interclub Player of the Year and Player of the Year awards. 

Shalulile joins Tau in both categories following a stellar campaign at Sundowns. The Namibian striker scored six goals in eight games as the Tshwane giants reached the semi-finals of the Champions League. 

Celebrating Sundowns players

On the other hand, Williams was also nominated in two categories in the Goalkeeper of the Year and Interclub Player of the Year awards. He kept two clean sheets in nine matches.

Meanwhile, Kaizer Chiefs striker Chivaviro also had an excellent season at Marumo Gallants. After a great season at Gallants, he is nominated for the interclub Player of the Year accolade.

He netted seven goals in 10 games as Gallants reached the semi-finals of the CAF Confederation Cup. As a result of the fairy-tale run, Gallants also earned a nomination for Club of the Year along with Sundowns. 

OTHER SOCCER NEWS:Former Sundowns coach set to replace Nabi at Yanga


Full List of Nominees (in alphabetic order by Member Association):

Player of the Year (Men)

1.     Ramy Bensebaini (Algeria and Borussia Dortmund)

2.     Riyad Mahrez (Algeria and Al Ahli)

3.     Edmond Tapsoba (Burkina Faso and Bayer Leverkusen)

4.     Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon and SSC Napoli)

5.     Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon and Besiktas)

6.     Ibrahima Sangare (Cote d’Ivoire and Nottingham Forest)

7.     Seko Fofana (Cote d’Ivoire and Al Nassr)

8.     Chancel Mbemba (DR Congo and Olympique Marseille)

9.     Fiston Mayele (DR Congo and Pyramids)

10.  Mahmoud Abdel Moneim “Kahraba” (Egypt and Ahly)

11.  Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt and Al Ahly)

12.  Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly)

13.  Mohamed Salah (Egypt and Liverpool)

14.  Mohammed Kudus (Ghana and West Ham United)

15.  Thomas Partey (Ghana and Arsenal)

16.  Serhou Guirassy (Guinea and VfB Stuttgart)

17.  Yves Bissouma (Mali and Tottenham Hotspur)

18.  Achraf Hakimi (Morocco and Paris Saint-Germain)

19.  Azzedine Ounahi (Morocco and Olympique Marseille)

20.  Hakim Ziyech (Morocco and Galatasaray)

21.  Sofyan Amrabat (Morocco and Manchester United)

22.  Yahya Jabrane (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

23.  Yassine Bounou (Morocco and Al Hilal)

24.  Youssef En-Nesyri (Morocco and Sevilla)

25.  Peter Shalulile (Namibia and Mamelodi Sundowns)

26.  Victor Osimhen (Nigeria and SSC Napoli)

27.  Sadio Mane (Senegal and Al Nassr)

28.  Pape Matar Sarr (Senegal and Tottenham Hotspur)

29.  Percy Tau (South Africa and Al Ahly)

30.  Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Tunisia and Ferencvaros)

Goalkeeper of the Year (Men)

1.     Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly)

2.     Yassine Bounou (Morocco & Al Hilal)

3.     Andre Onana (Cameroon and Manchester United)

4.     Ronwen Williams (South Africa and Mamelodi Sundowns)

5.     Edouard Mendy (Senegal and Al Ahli)

6.     Oussama Benbot (Algeria and USM Alger)

7.     Youssef El Motie (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

8.     Djigui Diarra (Mali and Young Africans)

9.     Pape Mamadou Sy (Senegal and Generation Foot)

10.  Landing Badji (Senegal and AS Pikine)

Interclub Player of the Year (Men)

1.     Aymen Mahious (Algeria and USM Alger/Yverdon-Sport)

2.     Oussama Benbot (Algeria and USM Alger)

3.     Zineddine Belaid (Algeria and USM Alger)

4.     Fiston Mayele (DR Congo and Young Africans/Pyramids)

5.     Makabi Lilepo (DR Congo and Al Hilal/Valenciennes)

6.     Hussein El Shahat (Egypt and Al Ahly)

7.     Mahmoud Abdel Moneim “Kahraba” (Egypt and Ahly)

8.     Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt and Al Ahly)

9.     Mohamed ElShenawy (Egypt and Al Ahly)

10.  Mostafa Fathi (Egypt and Pyramids)

11.  Djigui Diarra (Mali and Young Africans)

12.  Yahia Attiyat Allah (Morocco and Wydad Club Athletic)

13.  Yahya Jabrane (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

14.  Youssef El Motie (Morocco and Wydad Athletic Club)

15.  Peter Shalulile (Namibia and Mamelodi Sundowns)

16.  Percy Tau (South Africa and Al Ahly)

17.  Ranga Chivaviro (South Africa and Marumo Gallants/Kaizer Chiefs)

18.  Ronwen Williams (South Africa and Mamelodi Sundowns)

19.  Ali Maaloul (Tunisia and Al Ahly)

20.  Mohamed Ali Ben Romdhane (Tunisia and Esperance Sportive de Tunis /Ferencvaros)

Young Player of the Year (Men)

1.     Dango Ouattara (Burkina Faso and Bournemouth)

2.     Souleymane Alio (Burkina Faso and New Stars)

3.     Ernest Nuamah (Ghana & Olympique Lyonnais)

4.     Abdessamad Ezzalzouli (Morocco and Betis)

5.     Bilal El Khannous (Morocco and Genk)

6.     Gift Orban (Nigeria and KAA Gent)

7.     Lamine Camara (Senegal and Generation Foot/Metz)

8.     Pape Amadou Diallo (Senegal and Generation Foot/Metz)

9.     Pape Demba Diop (Senegal and Zulte Waregem)

10.  Amara Diouf (Senegal and Generation Foot)

Coach of the Year (Men)

1.     Abdelhak Benchikha (USM Alger)

2.     Marcel Koller (Al Ahly)

3.     Juan Micha Obiang (Equatorial Guinea)

4.     Tom Saintfiet (The Gambia)

5.     Baciro Cande (Guinea Bissau)

6.     Amir Abdou (Mauritania)

7.     Walid Regragui (Morocco)

8.     Chiquinho Conde (Mozambique)

9.     Aliou Cisse (Senegal)

10.  Pape Thiaw (Senegal – CHAN)

National Team of the Year (Men)

1.     Cape Verde

2.     The Gambia

3.     Guinea Bissau

4.     Equatorial Guinea

5.     Mauritania

6.     Morocco

7.     Mozambique

8.     Namibia

9.     Senegal

10.  Tanzania

Club of the Year (Men)

1.     CR Belouizdad (Algeria)

2.     USM Alger (Algeria)

3.     ASEC Mimosas (Cote d’Ivoire)

4.     Al Ahly (Egypt)

5.     Raja Club Athletic (Morocco)

6.     Wydad Athletic Club (Morocco)

7.     Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa)

8.     Marumo Gallants (South Africa)

9.     Esperance de Tunis (Tunisia)

10.  Young Africans (Tanzania)

Leave Your Thoughts Here...

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *